Chardham Yatra Ex Haridwar/ Dehradun/ Rishikesh

Chardham Yatra is one of the most sacred pilgrimages as per the Hindu religion. The Chardham Yatra holds great spiritual significance, as it is believed that undertaking this pilgrimage leads to the removal of sins and the cycle of rebirth and death. Traditionally, the Chardham Yatra begins in the month of April or May (Akshaya Tritiya) and closes for winters in the third week of November. It comprises of four shrines, namely Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath.


Yamunotri: This is the source of the Yamuna River and the seat of the Goddess Yamuna. The Yamunotri Temple is the first stop in the Chardham Yatra. It’s usually a full day’s journey from Uttarakhand’s main towns.


Gangotri: This is the source of the Ganges River and seat of the Goddess Ganga. The original source of the River Ganga is at Gaumukh, which is a 19km trek from Gangotri.


Kedarnath: This is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas, or holy shrines of Shiva. It is located in the Himalayas about 3583m (11,755 ft) above sea level near the Chorabari Glacier, the head of the Mandakini river.


Badrinath: This is the abode of Lord Vishnu. It is located in the town of Badrinath in Uttarakhand, situated between the two mountains Nar and Narayan. The Badrinath shrine is one of the 108 Divya Desams dedicated to Vishnu.


Here’s a fixed chardham yatra itinerary which starting from Haridwar, Dehradun, or Rishikesh:


Day 1: Haridwar/ Dehradun/ Rishikesh – Barkot (210kms/7-8hr)

The journey starts from Haridwar/ Dehradun/ Rishikesh, with Barkot as the destination. It is a picturesque town known for its scenic beauty. Rest and stay overnight at Barkot.


Day 2: Barkot – Yamunotri – Barkot (36kms drive & 6kms Trek (one side)

The first Dham of the Yatra is Yamunotri. Start early and take a local cab to Janki Chatti, from where you can trek (6 km) or take a pony or palanquin service to Yamunotri. After performing prayers, return to Barkot for the night.


Day 3: Barkot – Uttarkashi Uttarkashi (90kms/4hr)

The journey continues to Uttarkashi. Visit the Vishwanath Temple in the evening. Stay overnight in Uttarkashi.


Day 4: Uttarkashi – Gangotri – Uttarkashi  (100kms/3-4 each side)

Drive to Gangotri early in the morning. After performing the ritual prayers and ceremonies, drive back to Uttarkashi for an overnight stay.


Day 5: Uttarkashi – Guptkashi (220kms/8-9hr)

Travel from Uttarkashi to Guptkashi. The town of Guptkashi is famous for the ancient Vishwanath Temple – dedicated to Lord Shiva. Overnight stay in Guptkashi.


Day 6: Guptkashi – Kedarnath (30kms by road & 19kms Trek)

Start your journey to Kedarnath. On arrival, perform Pooja and Darshan at Shri Kedarnathji. Overnight stay in Kedarnath.


Day 7: Kedarnath – Guptkashi (19Kms Down Trek & 30kms/1hr by Road)

Start early and trek down to Gaurikund. Later, drive to Guptkashi. Stay overnight at Guptkashi.


Day 8: Guptkashi – Badrinath  (215kms/7hr)

Drive from Guptkashi to Badrinath. Upon arrival, take a holy dip in the Tapt Kund and attend the evening Aarti. Overnight stay at Badrinath.


Day 9: Badrinath – Rudraprayag (160kms) / Kirtinagar (200kms)

Early morning, after a bath in the Taptkund, visit the Badrinath temple for Darshan. Later, drive back to Rudraprayag. Overnight stay at Rudraprayag.


Day 10: Rudraprayag – Haridwar/ Dehradun/ Rishikesh (160kms/5hr)

The final day of the journey. Travel back to Haridwar/ Dehradun/ Rishikesh.


This is a premade itinerary for the Chardham Yatra. The trip can be customized based on your needs and preferences. It’s recommended to check weather conditions and local alerts before starting the Yatra.


This Char Dham Yatra package is From Sep to Oct 2023 – Kindly book online here –

No Comments

Post A Comment

Call Now